Members of VTC Group
Home > About US > Discipline Advisory Board
Discipline Advisory Board

The Engineering Discipline is dedicated to nurturing professional engineers for Hong Kong and facilitating long-term development of the city.  To ensure the relevance and quality of the programmes offered in meeting the ever-changing needs of the economy, the Discipline has sought inputs from the engineering industry through the Engineering Discipline Advisory Board to recommend the strategic development of the Discipline for programmes and services at diploma and higher diploma level.  The Discipline Advisory Board is part of the comprehensive academic management structure formed by Vocational Training Council and it meets regularly for the purposes of: 

  • recommending the course planning, curriculum development and quality assurance of the programmes at diploma and higher diploma level offered;
  • deriving the strategy for networking and partnership with stakeholders for the development and promotion of vocational and professional education and training, including employers, employers' associations, trade unions, professional institutions, training and educational institutions and government departments; 
  • reviewing the skill assessments, trade tests and certification for in-service workers, apprentices and trainees for ascertaining the attainment of specified skill standards, where appropriate;  and
  • suggesting the publicity matters relating to the activities of vocational and professional education and training programmes of the Discipline.
Board Member List 2021-2023
Ir Dr Hon Lo Wai Kwok
Legislative Council Member
Deputy Chairman
Dr Michael Wang
Deputy Executive Director
Vocational Training Council
External Members
Name Title
Ir Dr Johnny Cheuk Vice President, Geotechnical, AECOM Asia Company Limited
Mr Steve Chuang Founder & CEO, Provista Group
Ir Antonio Chan Deputy Managing Director, REC Engineering Company Limited
Ir Gary Ko Executive Director & Chief Operating Officer, Kum Shing Group
Ir Paul Poon Vice Chancellor-CLP Power Academy, CLP Power Hong Kong Limited
Ir Dr Tony Lee Operations Director, MTR Corporation Limited
Ir Prof Eric Ma Chief Executive Officer, NWS Holdings Limited
Ir Andrew Young Associate Director (Innovation), Sino Land Company Limited
Ir Peter Chak Vice Principal-Towngas Engineering Academy, The Hong Kong and China Gas Company Limited
Mr Simon Li President, Hong Kong International Aviation Academy
Sr Thomas Ho Past President, The Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors
Prof Kenneth Wong Professor, Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, The University of Hong Kong


VTC Members
Name Title
Dr Daniel Yan Academic Director (Engineering), Vocational Training Council
Ir Edmond Wong Head, Department of Construction, IVE(Tsing Yi)
Ir Kenny Wong Senior Lecturer, Department of Engineering, IVE(Tsing Yi)


Name Title
Ir Dr Simon Shum Head, Department of Engineering, IVE(Tsing Yi)
Ms Mavis Lam (Asst. Secretary) Senior Project Officer, Engineering Discipline In-service Training Office, IVE(Tsing Yi)
Engineering Discipline